Friday, October 12, 2018

"Book of the Just"

Dana Chamblee Carpenter is the author of Book of the Just, the third novel in The Bohemian Trilogy. The first book in the series, Bohemian Gospel, won the 2014 Killer Nashville Claymore Award. Publishers Weekly called it “a deliciously creepy debut.”

Her second book, The Devil’s Bible, won the 2017 Silver Falchion Award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Horror Thriller and Best Novel Overall. Publishers Weekly said: “Mouse is both strong and vulnerable, constantly struggling with the dark legacy of her father, her own powers, and her efforts to be a good person. This exciting, poignant novel continues the strong opening in Bohemian Gospel and leaves room for more in Mouse’s fascinating world.”

Carpenter applied the Page 69 Test to Book of the Just and reported the following:
From page 69:
Though this seems like a relatively innocent moment of discovery, it’s actually the beginning of a pivotal moment, and one that will have serious repercussions for Mouse, the fierce protagonist of the book. Jack Gray has been sent to search the ruins of Podlazice Monastery for anything he might find in connection with the Devil’s Bible. His boss, the Reverend, doesn’t like to be told no, but the situation is dangerous and a little too messy for Jack’s taste, until he gets a whiff of something interesting—a power in the air which he’s encountered once before. Now Jack’s hungry for what he might find among the rubble and salivating over how he might use it against Mouse.
Visit Dana Chamblee Carpenter's website.

My Book, The Movie: Book of the Just.

--Marshal Zeringue